The Gospel to the Poor and Needy

One of the many well known sayings of the Lord Jesus Christ is found in Matthew 11:28-30.

Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

In these words, we have an example of the gospel to the poor and needy which was proclaimed by Christ. Earlier in chapter 11 of Matthew, we are told that Jesus listed His preaching of the gospel to the poor as an evidence of His being the Messiah. John the Baptist was to be told, among other wonderful signs that Jesus was the Christ, this was true, “to the poor the gospel is preached.” (Matt. 11:5)

The words of Jesus noted above, have been a source of encouragement and blessing to many poor sin-burdened ones down through the years. Little wonder, when they are the words of the Saviour of sinners.

Are we such as are toiling under the burden of the guilt of sin? Are we labouring after spiritual rest, but as yet have found none? Then, let us heed the words of Jesus, ” Come unto me…” What are we assured we shall find if we do come by faith to Christ? “ye shall find rest unto your souls…”

In commenting on this passage of God’s word, Matthew Henry writes, ‘…this is the sum and substance of the gospel call and offer…’

We are not to go elsewhere, we are to come to Christ. In Him we shall find rest for our weary souls, a rest, that is rest indeed, for as He says elsewhere, “All that the Father giveth me shall come to me; and him that cometh to me I will in no wise cast out.

G B Macdonald

www.sydneyfpchurch.org.au

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.