Eight Advantages of Looking to Christ

In a sermon on Isaiah 65:1, especially the words, ‘…I said, Behold me, behold me, unto a nation that was not called by my name.’ The Rev Andrew Gray lists eight advantages to the Christian of looking to Christ by faith:

A beholding of Christ by faith is an excellent way to:

1. Increase the grace of love.

2. Mortify our idols.

3. Come to repentance.

4. Gain victory over the great idol of pride.

5. Recover from apostasy and defection from God.

6. Overcome discouragements.

7. Obtain steadfastness of spirit

8. Attain to tenderness of heart

Regarding the seventh of these eight advantages of beholding Christ he notes:

‘There is this seventh advantage that attends the beholding of Christ and it is this: It is an excellent way to win to steadfastness of spirit. Are there not some persons here that cry out, “I am unstable as water, and that mars my excellency; how shall I win to a composed way of serving God?” Give Christ a look and that is the way to win to steadfastness. This is clear, Psalm 16:8, “I have set the Lord always before me.” That was a strange word, “I have set the Lord always before me”; was it not a pleasant object? But what of that? Therefore, “I shall never be moved.” My stability depends upon this, I have God always within sight. And I would say this, if ye be not within speaking to God, O be within looking to Him. Is there a person here  that is not within gripping or speaking unto God? Yea, O be within looking to Him; for, though He were far off, ye may take a look of Him.’

(Twelve Select Sermons of the Rev Andrew Gray of Glasgow published by Westminster Standard 1961)

NB Although some of the language in the passage above is of an older style the ideas raised are worth considering and helpful.

G B Macdonald

sydneyfpchurch.org.au

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.